And so it begins…

People keep telling me I should have a blog, it’s taken me long enough but I have finally listened and here I am…blogging! I wasn’t too sure what I was meant to be doing or what I should be sharing (so of course I googled it) and got this:

blog
blɒɡ/
noun
1.
a regularly updated website or web page, typically one run by an individual or small group, that is written in an informal or conversational style.
verb
1.
add new material to or regularly update a blog.
“it’s about a week since I last blogged”

So I’m seeing it as almost an online journal, but a public journal. I’ll update as I go along, but I’ll also share some previous work and other bits, simply because its taken me far too long to start this…

The basic story of me is that I’m 28, I’m a jeweller, and I’ve lived in Herefordshire for my whole life (except for 3 months in Nottingham when I started my degree but that’s another story). I completed my Contemporary Applied Arts BA(hons) at Herefordshire College of Arts, and graduated in 2010. Since graduating I have been working as a self employed jeweller, showing work in galleries and also at craft fairs and markets. I love what I do. I really do love what I do. I just wish there were a few more hours in the day sometimes, it can be hard to juggle as I also work full time for a local company. This basically means that sometimes when there aren’t enough hours for both parts of my double life, sleep/rest gets put to the bottom of the to do list, and I’m not quite sure what day it is or what job I’m meant to be doing. I’m also a member of Alloy, the Herefordshire jewellers group with a joint workshop at The Courtyard in Hereford. I’ve been a member since 2010 when I was selected for a graduate position after completing my degree.

And so that’s me right now, in a paragraph. I’m not the best writer, but I’ll try my hardest, happy reading…

image

Leave a comment